The strange case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.


Hey again 🙂 I’ve decided to write two posts in a week and since I love this short story so much and there is not much review about it, I’ve decided to fix that injustice.

The strange case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde is a short story written by Robert Louis Stevenson. The story is about the friend of Dr Jekyll and who wants to find what is wrong with his friend, since he develops peculiar bounding with hideous person called Edward Hyde. During the story Dr Jekyll becomes wicker, while Hyde is getting stronger and soon he starts killing innocent people. Soon after Dr Jekyll dissapears and the courtain falls down when dr hekyll’s letter is found. 

Well, since I’m sure there is not much sense in not spoiling readers, I’ll try my best not to do it. And simply say what I loved about it and what I didn’t.

At first the whole story sounded like an unsuccessfully attempted detective, it seemed to me writer couldn’t open the whole plot and everything ended way too fast. I wish it were an actual book and not a short story. Just like Stephen kind’s children of the corn it would have been much better, so one big minus is that it is a short story.

We don’t have enough time to connect with characters, however, you can feel something toward Dr Jekyll till very end, it’s up to reader whether it will be a disgust or compassion.

Edward Hyde represents the dark side that is within us. Or that’s what I believe, the story sets in the Victorian England, where everything was so pricesely perfect, sometimes even being perfect gets little too much and that is the time when our dark side comes to the surface.

Despite its weaknesses, the story has some good sides. The last letter for example, it was the best part in the whole plot, the last redeemed the whole plot dare I say. The idea is interesting and book has good aura, but, as I said I wanted more. It wasn’t enough.

I still don’t get it why it is horror, it’s not horror more like triller. And you know, there are some movie adaptations, but don’t waste your time on it. You can check musicales in YouTube they are pretty good.

So for me it’s 3.5 out of 5.

4 thoughts on “The strange case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.

Leave a Reply

